Grand Scores 2017- A night dedicated to film music

03/02/2017 20:19

Berlin, 3 February 2017 For the fourth time, Moët & Chandon together with ECSA (the European Composer and Songwriter Alliance) honor some of the greatest composers in international film music. On Thursday evening, it was time again for a big spectacle with a grand orchestra! ECSA President Alfons Karabuda and Jens Gardthausen, CEO of Moët & Chandon in Germany greeted 250 invited guests. They celebrated international film music and its distinguished composers with a glamourous award show followed by a celebration at the “Umspannwerk” in Berlin. The highlight was the Grand Scores award ceremony honoring the noble art of film music composition and its significance to the film world. As official content partner of the Grand Scores, ECSA was in charge of providing a high class international jury consisting of film composers to ensure a fair and committed selection procedure in what is considered to be the most renowned peer-to-peer film music award. In addition to an exciting and emotional Grand Scores award ceremony, the guests enjoyed a grand show that evening: as “aperitif” and also to set the mood for the award, the digital influencer André Hamann and his band Faelan took the stage. During the award ceremony the German Film Orchestra Babelsberg consisting of 60 musicians presented an impressive medley of famous film classics as well as an interpretation of “Writings on the Wall” (“James Bond”) together with singer Marzenka Nowinski. The last performance of the evening gave the British singer Anne-Marie. Last year, she was the most successful female newcomer selling 4.5 million singles and was nominated for the MTV European Music Award. This year, she is already nominated in four categories for the Brit Awards in February. Her performance prompted a hurricane of applause and a fantastic atmosphere amongst the guests. The Winners On the evening of the award show, the following artists were chosen as winners and honored for their work: Best Orchestral Score - Gaute Storaas for “En Man Som Heter Ove” (A Man Called Ove) Best Orchestral Score - Clint Mansell for “High Rise” Best Electro-Acoustic Score - Sophia Ersson for “Pojkarna” (Girls Lost) Best Original Music for a Series - Victor Reyes for “The Night Manager” Outstanding Contribution - Lalo Schifrin Due to the high quality and uniqueness of the compositions, the international jury decided to award two composers in the category of “Best Orchestral Score” this year.

Read more: